March 2, 2017

Dare I say it out loud?  Have we reached success just when we thought it wasn’t possible?  She has jingled the bell with her nose, the door opens, and she goes out and……does her business!  And this has happened multiple times!  Am I jinxing it by saying it out loud?

I was beginning to think we had made a terrible mistake.  Why would be add a puppy to an already busy household?  We already had a two-year old yellow lab.  And Charlie is a wonderful dog who is so gentle with the kids  and everyone he meets.  Wouldn’t we be tempting fate with another dog?  After our bad experiences with dogs, do we take a chance AGAIN?  Why couldn’t we be content with one?

But I caved.  Me, the only logical one in the conversation. The only one who was saying, no, we are not getting another dog.  I caved.  I melted.  I said yes.

So Miss Luna enters our world.  Slept through those first nights.  Wow, I thought, she is great.  Charlie took forever to sleep through the night.  She knew how to sleep through the night but she couldn’t seem to find the front door!  She peed.  She peed without any warning.  She peed anywhere and everywhere.  She pooped for the most part, outside.  But she peed whenever or where ever she pleased.  She was not even cute anymore.  She was just a pee mess.  And I was regretting “our” decision and my angry at myself for caving.

But then one day she starts ringing the bell on the door and going outside and peeing where dogs are supposed to pee.  Just like that.

Now to stop the “too excited” drips.

2 thoughts on “March 2, 2017”

  1. Congratulations for taking a small but powerful step out of puppy prison. I was embarrassingly thrilled when Murphy, our now eight months old very springy Springer spaniel, finally made the doggie commitment to forever Pee outside

    Rang a bell?
    Really?
    Impressive!

    Like

Leave a Reply

